Showing Active Users


Table of Contents   Previous Page  Next Page    

The Active Connections window displays a list of all users currently connected to the active database.  This list appears automatically if you try to login and the maximum number of connections allowed by your license has already been reached (if you do not have a license, the maximum number of connections is one.)

The administrator user can also display this window at any time.

Showing Active Users

1Login to MemberTies as the administrator user, "mtadmin".
2Choose Tools > Database Admin Tools > Show Active Users to open the Active Connections window.
 
The following information is displayed:
User - The user currently logged in.
Login - The date and time the login occurred.
Elapsed - The number of hours, minutes, and seconds the user has been logged in. (If the number of hours exceeds 24, the number of days is shown as well)
Connection ID - The server connection ID, for information only.  Database connections are counted from the last time the server was restarted. The system opens and closes connections in background frequently, so you shouldn't worry too much about the ID you are assigned. i.e., if your connection ID is "41", it doesn't mean there are 40 other people connected.
3If a user is shown that you know is not actually logged in, you can disconnect them by selecting the record and choosing, "Disconnect".  This typically happens when a computer crash or power failure prevents MemberTies from cleanly finishing the normal Log Out process.
 
Note: A disconnect command takes effect immediately. Do not disconnect a user if they really are logged in! The disconnection process will kill their server connection, and they will get lots of database errors and will be forced out of MemberTies without a chance to save or exit normally.
4When you are finished, click OK.

When this window appears at Login                

This window will display at login time if there are no more available "seats" on your license to allow another user (you) to log in.  In this case, the window will show as it does above, but the "Disconnect" button will not be available unless you are the administrator user or have the appropriate security setting.

If you are not allowed to disconnect an entry, you can only click Refresh to see if there is an opening, or click OK to close and try to log in later.