Record Locking


Table of Contents   Previous Page  Next Page    

If the license in use allows more than one user to be logged in at a time, the system will use a record locking process to try to prevent two users from updating the same record at once.  If your license only allows a single user, no record locking is used.

For example, suppose user "sally" logs in and opens a membership record.  The system will make an entry in its records that sally now "owns" that record.  Now if user "joe" logs in and tries to open the same record, he will receive a message similar to:

 This record is locked and unavailable because it is currently in use by "sally" (effective: 11/26/2006 11:57:28)

Viewing Record Locks

Any user can view record locks, and by default, any user can remove locks.  The "Unlock Records" security setting can be used to prevent certain users from being able to remove record locks.

1Choose Tools > User Tools > View Locked Records.

 

 Any record currently in use will be displayed.

2If you are certain that the "Locked By" user is not actually using the record, click "Clear Lock" to free the record.  If you have the appropriate Security Setting to unlock records, the lock will be removed.

 Note: It is important to be certain the record is not in use before removing the lock. If the record is still being used, removing the lock will allow other users to open and change the record at the same time. This could cause data to be lost or overwritten when each person saves their changes.

3When you are finished, click OK.