Moving the Software


Table of Contents   Previous Page  Next Page    

Perhaps your term as membership director has expired and it's time to move the software to the next person, or perhaps you've purchased a new PC and need to move MemberTies from the old machine to the new one. How do you accomplish this?

The process is essentially, 1) Backup the database, 2) Install the Software, 3) Restore the database.

Moving the Software

1If you're going to be turning the software over to a new user, the first thing you should do is create a new Username and Password for the new person to use. Otherwise, you'll have to give them your username/password so they can login, which makes it harder to tell who made which changes. To create a new user, login as the mtadmin user and go to Tools > Database Admin Tools > Maintain Users. Create a new user with a simple password like "password". The next person can login and change it to something more secure.
2Backup the database (Tools > Database Tools > Backup Database). Take note of where the backup file is saved.
3Copy the backup file you just created and take it to the new machine.
4Copy any additional files associated with your database and take them to the new machine. These file may include photos or related files that are been saved on the computer (unless you have the database "File and Photo Storage" preference set to save these in the database, they will be moved automatically).
5Now, on the new machine, install MemberTies either from your original install files, or by downloading the current version. DO NOT simply copy all the files from one machine to the other. You won't get all the libraries and registry entries that way, and the program will not run.
6Start MemberTies and when the Welcome window appears, choose to Restore a database.
7Restore the backup file you created earlier.
8Place any additional files copied earlier in their corresponding locations on the new machine.

 

Troubleshooting

If you restored the database, but when you log in you only see the "sample" record, you may have restored the database to a different name.  Database backups can be set to only restore to the original name. Go back to the Login window and see if there is another database listed in the Database dropdown list. If the database is there, you can use the Server Utility to delete the "empty" database that you don't need anymore.
If your license information won't work, make sure you installed the appropriate standard or professional version. If you were using the pro version, and accidentally installed the standard version, it won't recognize your license. Download the correct version and reinstall.  The Professional version will show the word "Professional" on the Login window.
If the version is right but the license still won't work, you may have installed a version that was released after the "free update" period of your license expired. In this case, you'll need to renew your license so it will be valid for new releases again.
If you get Win32 errors, bad .dll errors, or other operating system messages, it normally means you've copied program files instead of installing. You have to actually install the software for it to work.  Either install from a current CD, or download the software from our website and run the installation program.

If you have other problems, send an email to support@myrro.com and we'll do our best to help.